---
title: "How to share notes"
url: "https://recollect.fyi/support/note-management/how-to-share-notes/"
updated: "2026-07-04T17:11:45+00:00"
sources:
  - "https://recollect.fyi/support/note-management/how-to-share-notes/"
entities:
  - name: "Open Graph protocol"
    relation: "mentions"
    type: "Thing"
    sameAs:
      - "https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Q17107778"
      - "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Graph_protocol"
---

All notes can be shared discreetly with trusted individuals or publicly, like on social media. Shared notes are accessible to anyone with access to the link. After you create the link, you can disable it if you want to stop sharing it. If you disable sharing, the link will no longer work. You can share the note again, but a new link will be created.

## Creating a share link for a note

Click on the **Share icon** at the bottom left of the note window.

![A red arrow points to the Share icon, an upward arrow leaving a tray, at the bottom left of the note window.](https://recollect.fyi/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/recollect-share-icon.webp)A red arrow highlights the Share icon in the note toolbar, alongside the delete and download buttons.Click the **Create link** button to generate a new URL to share the note.

![Screenshot of the Note Sharing Options panel with a Read-Only heading and a blue Create link button.](https://recollect.fyi/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/create-read-only-note.webp)The Note Sharing Options panel explains that the note is private and offers a Create link button to generate a shareable read-only URL.Click **Copy link** to copy the URL and manually share the link. Click **Share link** to initiate the native sharing options for the OS. And if you want to stop sharing the note, click the **Stop Sharing** button, permanently disabling the share link.

![Screenshot of the Note Sharing Options panel showing a Read-Only heading, a share link reading “https://notes.recollect.fyi/share/2FXOHQqn”, and Copy link, Share link, and red Stop Sharing buttons.](https://recollect.fyi/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/read-only-notes-modal.webp)The Note Sharing Options panel presents the read-only share link with buttons to copy it, share it, or stop sharing entirely.If you share a note publicly, like on social media, an [Open Graph image](https://coywolf.pro/content/open-graph-twitter-card-image-optimization/) is automatically generated and displayed in the post. The image shows the title of the note, which is the first line.

![Mastodon post by Jon Henshaw sharing a link, notes.recollect.fyi/iwh8bRmK, with a preview card reading “SHARED NOTE: Quinoa Corn Edamame Salad Recipe” and the caption “A shared note with you.”](https://recollect.fyi/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/recollect-social-post-card.webp)A shared Recollect note posted to Mastodon shows an automatically generated Open Graph card displaying the note's title, Quinoa Corn Edamame Salad Recipe.